New Jersey Attorney General Gurbir Grewal announced on Monday that those who break the state’s stay at home order could face jail or up to $1,000 in fines.
Gov. Phil Murphy signed executive orders over the weekend bar unapproved social gatherings and shut down all “non-essential” businesses. The orders closed all retail “storefront and/or brick-and-mortar premises” and ordered that “all recreational and entertainment businesses must close to the public.”
During a press conference on Monday, Grewal said that police will also be monitoring for people who have parties at their homes and invite too many people.
“Law enforcement officers will have to break that party up, and there will be criminal consequences,” Grewal said. “The time for warnings is over. And the time to ensure compliance by using all of the tools available to us is here.”
Grewal’s office told NorthJersey.com that offenders can be charged with everything from a disorderly persons charge to an indictable offense.
“The exact charge will depend on the crime. But a disorderly persons offense is punishable by a prison term of up to six months, a fine of up to $1,000 or both, Grewal’s office has said,” the website reports.
The governor said that he was “really damned unhappy” to hear that people have still been gathering in the state.
“Folks need to be jolted,” Murphy said Sunday. “All residents are to stay inside if you do not need to be out.”
New Jersey residents with non-essential jobs are currently only allowed to go to the grocery store, seek medical care, exercise outside or visit close friends and relatives.